Frustration (sometime in November)

When I joined the Gym several weeks ago I thought it would fit in nicely with the rest of the family’s plans. They could do what they do in an evening and I would be off messing around at the gym and then we would meet up back at home.

I did not want my desire to get fitter to interfere with family life. I did not want the Man feeling guilty or feeling that he should be doing the same…if he chooses to get out there then that is an entirely different matter.

Normally on a Tuesday the Man will take the Boy to Karate… this involves him leaving work by 5pm a short 10 minute journey back to collect the Boy from his grandparents house and then a slightly longer drive to the village hall where the Boy does his stuff.

Unfortunately they are upgrading the motorway junction which means the Man doesn’t always make it in time so sometimes I leave work early as a back up taxi.

So on this particular Tuesday I get a call from the Man as I enter the village, there is a traffic jam and would I mind doing the run over to our neighbouring village and if I drop the Boy off then the Man will collect an hour later.

So I collect my son. We rush the 7 miles over to Karate, I drop the Boy off and head home to get changed for Spin.  At 6.15pm I get a call from the Man. He hasn’t moved. He is still in his car in the same position he was in when he called me earlier.

I drive 7 miles, collect the Boy, drive back 7 miles.

By now it is 6.45pm. I have spin at  7.15pm…the Man is still not home and in fact is still in the same place he was at 6.15pm

I am in 2 minds whether to take the Boy back to his grandparents or to take him to the Leisure Centre and leave him to wait in the café outside the Cycling Studio until my lesson is over with my phone to keep him occupied and a warning about Stranger Danger

In the end I head towards the Leisure Centre as I need to put some fuel in my car at the local supermarket  as I am driving on fumes.  I decide “sod it” and took the opportunity to get some air in my car tyre (slow puncture) then the Boy and I pick up a few provisions and head home.

To be honest I took the whole series of events as fate telling me I wasn’t actually well enough to do Spin… after all I almost passed out at the “drop a Jeans size” session the day before.

After some discussion we decide that since the junction works are not due to be completed until March 2016 its probably best if I swap my days as making sure the Boy is able to participate in a form of physical exercise he enjoys is probably more important.

Along the way I seem to have ended up changing my single day to 2 sessions on Monday AND Wednesday which start an hour earlier than the Tuesday session so mean I actually get to spend more time with my family than less…!

Leave a Reply

